What are templates in Splice?
Sharing your project as a template lets other Splicers follow your lead. They’ll be able to add their clips to a blank project based on your edits—but your own clips won’t be shared.
How do I create and share a template?
To share your project as a template, first make sure you’re using the latest version of the app. Then, follow these steps:
- Open an existing Splice project, or create a new one
- Populate your project, adding clips and applying any effects
- Once your project is complete, tapin the top-right corner of your screen
- Tap Create template
Splice will then generate a link that you can copy and share anywhere—via social media or your favorite messaging app, in an email or on a website, and even by old-fashioned SMS!
Whoever follows the link will be invited to install Splice and start a project based on your template. They’ll keep all of the overlays, filters, speed effects, and every bit of magic that you used, but they’ll need to add their own clips.
What gets shared with the template?
When sharing a template, you only share the structure of your project. No worries, your photos and videos won’t be shared!
If you use a track from the Splice music library, the song will be available to everybody using your template to edit to the same beat you did.
Almost all the amazing features in Splice are supported and shared with your template, including effects, adjustments, filters, masks, speed changes, and text. The only exceptions are: Reverse video, Captions and Chroma Key.
Please sign in to leave a comment.